Beauty

June Empties

I have never done an empties post before but I’ve been left with a fair few empty bottles this month so I thought I’d try something different.

I’m a firm believer in looking after your skin so I tend to get through quite a few skincare products each month. This month I have two empty bottles of toner and one empty bottle of micellar water. To remove makeup I usually have a quick swipe of an oil based makeup remover (such as Take the day off by Clinique) then I use a micellar water before cleansing with my trusty Cleanse and Polish by Liz Earle to remove all traces of makeup. No panda eyes here!

20170627_135045

My first empty is the Kind to skin micellar cleansing water by Simple. As a teenager I used the Simple cleansing wipes everyday but now that I’m (a little) older I know that wipes don’t do a good enough job so I switched up to the micellar water. This micellar water contains no artificial colours or perfumes plus it does contain multi vitamins so it’s ideal for sensitive skin like mine. I love how simple yet effective this product is; it’s just as easy to use as wipes but much better for your skin & far more effective at removing stubborn makeup. I use this to help remove eye makeup too as I know it won’t sting my eyes. My skin always feels nice & soft after I use it too. I’ve been using this micellar water for many years now & I won’t be stopping any time soon.

20170627_162646

Liz Earle are one of my all time favourite skincare brands & their Instant Boost Skin Tonic is amazing. I get through a lot of this toner and it’s definitely one of my favourite products. The first thing you notice about this toner is the beautiful soft floral scent. It’s heavenly! The product smells very natural & not of chemicals at all. It is also alcohol free, contains no animal extracts & is made here in Great Britain. Liz Earle are famous for using naturally active ingredients & their tonic contains: aloe vera, calendula, cucumber, geranium and vitamin E. All of these are fantastic for the skin and calendula is particularly good for redness & rosacia. Toner is a great step to have in your skincare routine as it helps to prepare the skin for moisturiser plus it removes the last traces of dirt that your cleanser might have missed. The second toner in my stash of empties is the Calming face toner by Naobay. This toner is an eco certified organic product and it’s not tested on animals. I really like the simple packaging of this toner & the wooden lid fits in well with the brand. For the first two weeks I really enjoyed using this toner & was very pleased that it didn’t irritate my sensitive skin. However, by the third week the toner had gone mouldy! Yuck! I read a few online reviews & comments and it turns out this is quite common. If this product had a better shelf life then I’d buy it again but I don’t feel that two weeks is long enough & the fact it went mouldy was really disgusting.

20170627_161135

When I went to Bristol a few weeks ago to buy a hoover I ended up in Lush (as you do), and I was given a sample of their Curly Wurly shampoo. I was given enough for two applications. My first impressions were pretty good. It smells quite tropical & particularly of coconut. The texture is a bit strange compared to other shampoos as it’s much thicker and has coconut flakes in it. The texture is more similar to a body scrub than a regular shampoo. You need to rub the product into your palms before applying to your wet hair. Once the product is in your hair you will need to rub the product quite a lot as it doesn’t lather like other shampoos do. It’s also better to leave this product in your hair for about 10-15 mins before rinsing. I followed these instructions and I did find that this shampoo worked well for my hair type (thick naturally wavy/curly hair). Next time I’m in Lush I might have to pick up the full size!

20170627_134929

Next up is the Batiste light & blonde hint of colour dry shampoo. I prefer this product to regular dry shampoo as it helps lift my natural hair colour and doesn’t leave a grey residue. Dry shampoo is a beauty essential for most of us on those days when there simply isn’t time to wash, dry & style your locks. I love that Batiste is very purse friendly too!

20170628_171440

Ever since Percy & Reed burst onto the hairdressing scene in 2007 I’ve been obsessed with their products. My absolute favourite is their Perfectly Perfecting Wonder Balm. I’ve got through countless tubes of this product & I couldn’t live without it. This product is a leave in balm that preps & primes your hair ready for all your styling products. It gives you more control & results that last longer. I find this product really maximises definition & helps to tame flyaways too.

20170627_162741

Finally, it’s The Breakfast Scrub by Soap & Glory. My favourite things about this scrub are the gorgeous scent of maple and it’s creamy moisturising texture. This tub lasts for ages and makes a real noticeible difference to the skin. My legs & arms feel so soft & smooth after using this. Generally I use a body scrub once a week after shaving to remove dead skin cells. It removes old fake tan too. It’s perfect for Summer when you have to bare those pins!

Thank you for reading! What products have you finished this month?

Standard

Leave a Reply

